Cannes Film Fest 1965: Year 18–Olivia De Havilland, First Woman as Jury President; The Knack Top Winner; Acting Awards: Terence Stamp and Samantha Eggar, The Collector


The eighteenth Cannes Film Fest was held from May 3-16, 1965.


Two-time Oscar winner and Paris-based Olivia de Havilland became the first woman to serve as president of the jury.

The Grand Prix du Festival went to The Knack …and How to Get It by Richard Lester.

The festival opened with The Collector, directed by William Wyler.

It closed with Tōkyō Orinpikku, directed by Kon Ichikawa.

Jury Members

 André Maurois (France) (honorary president)
  • Olivia de Havilland (USA) (president)
  • Goffredo Lombardo (USA) (vice president)
  • Max Aub (Mexico)
  • Michel Aubriani (France) (journalist)
  • Rex Harrison (UK)
  • François Reichenbach (France)
  • Alain Robbe-Grillet (France)
  • Konstantin Simonov (Soviet Union)
  • Edmond Ténoudji (France)
  • Jerzy Toeplitz (Poland)
  • Gérardot (France) (short films president)
  • Short Film Jury
  • Istvan Dosai (Hungary) (Cinématographie official) (short films)
  • Herman van der Horst (Netherlands) (short films)
  • Jacques Ledoux (Belgium) (short films)
  • Carlos Vilardebn (France) (short films)

Feature Film Competition

  • La 317ème section by Pierre Schoendoerffer
  • Älskande par by Mai Zetterling
  • Clay by Giorgio Mangiamele
  • The Collector by William Wyler (US)
  • Az Életbe táncoltatott leány by Tamás Banovich
  • Fifi la plume by Albert Lamorisse
  • Goreshto pladne by Zako Heskija
  • Al Haram by Henry Barakat
  • The Hill by Sidney Lumet (US)
  • The Ipcress File by Sidney J. Furie
  • El juego de la oca by Manuel Summers
  • Kwaidan by Masaki Kobayashi
  • The Knack …and How to Get It by Richard Lester
  • Mitt hem är Copacabana by Arne Sucksdorff
  • Il momento della verità by Francesco Rosi and Antonio Levesi Cervi
  • Noite Vazia by Walter Hugo Khouri
  • Obchod na korze by Ján Kadár and Elmar Klos
  • Padurea spânzuratilor by Liviu Ciulei
  • Los pianos mecánicos by Juan Antonio Bardem
  • Pierwszy dzien wolnosci by Aleksander Ford
  • Prodosia by Kostas Manoussakis
  • El Reñidero by René Múgica
  • Tarahumara (Cada vez más lejos) by Luis Alcoriza
  • Yo Yo by Pierre Étaix
  • Zhavoronok by Nikita Kurikhin and Leonid Menaker
  • Zhili-byli starik so starukhoj by Grigori Chukhrai

Films out of competition

  • Amsterdam by Herman Van Der Horst
  • In Harm’s Way by Otto Preminger

  • Le Cinquième Soleil by Jacqueline Grigaut-Lefevre
  • Mary Poppins by Robert Stevenson (US)
  • Tōkyō Orinpikku by Kon Ichikawa
  • John F. Kennedy: Years of Lightning, Day of Drums by Bruce Herschensohn


  • Grand Prix du Festival: The Knack …and How to Get It by Richard Lester
  • Jury Special Prize: Kwaidan by Masaki Kobayashi
  • Best Actor: Terence Stamp for The Collector
  • Best Actress: Samantha Eggar for The Collector
  • Best Director: Liviu Ciulei for Pădurea spânzuraţilor
  • Best Screenplay:
    • Pierre Schoendoerffer for La 317e Section
    • Ray Rigby for The Hill
  • Special Mention:
    • Jozef Kroner and Ida Kaminska for their acting performances in Obchod na korze
    • Vera Kuznetsova for her acting performance in Zhili-byli starik so starukhoj
  • Technical Grand Prize:
    • Ban ye ji Jiao by Yeou Lei
    • Fifi la plume by Albert Lamorisse
    • Overture by János Vadász
    • Az Életbe táncoltatott leány by Tamás Banovich
  • Technical Grand Prize – Special Mention: The Knack …and How to Get It by Richard Lester
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: Overture by János Vadász
  • Jury Prize – Best Short Film: Johann Sebastian Bach: Fantasy in G minor by Jan Švankmajer
  • Jury Special Prize – Best Short Film: Monsieur Plateau by Jean Brismée
  • FIPRESCI Prize: Tarahumara (Cada vez más lejos) by Luis Alcoriza
  • OCIC Award: Yo Yo by Pierre Étaix
  • Best Film for the Youth:
    • Los Junqueros by Oscar Kantor
    • Yo Yo by Pierre Étaix