Cannes Film Fest 1951: Year 4–Tie between Miss Julie and Miracle in Milan

Cannes Film Fest 1951: Year 4

The fourth Cannes Film Festival was held from April 3 to 20, 1951.

The previous year, no festival had been held due to financial reasons.

In 1951, the festival took place in April instead of September to avoid direct competition with the Venice Film Festival.

As in the previous two festivals, the entire jury was made up of French persons.

The Grand Prix of the Festival was a tie of two films, Miss Julie by Alf Sjöberg and Miracle in Milan by Vittorio De Sica.

Read our review of Miss Julie

miss julie | Emanuel Levy

Miss Julie

Theatrical release poster


The festival honored Michèle Morgan, Jean Marais and Jean Cocteau with the Victoire du cinéma français award.


André Maurois (author) Jury President
Suzanne Bidault-Borel (politician)
Louis Chauvet (journalist)
Evrard de Rouvre
Guy Desson (official MP)
Jacques Ibert (composer)
Gaby Morlay (actress)
Georges Raguis (union official)
René Jeanne (critic)
Carlo Rim (director)
Louis Touchagues
Paul Vialar (author)
Substitute members

Alexander Kamenka
Paul Verneyras (MP official)
Paul Weill (lawyer)
Short films

Marcel De Hubsch
Marcel Ichac
Fred Orain
Jesn Thevenot (journalist)

Feature Film Competition

All About Eve by Joseph L. Mankiewicz

Bright Victory  by Mark Robson

The Browning Version by Anthony Asquith

Caiçara by Adolfo Celi

Dance of Fire ( LaDanza del fuego) by Daniel Tinayre

The Devil Is a Woman  (Doña Diabla) by Tito Davison

Dream of a Cossack (Kavalier zolotoy zvezdy) by Yuli Raizman

Edward and Caroline by Jacques Becker

The Falling Star ” (Der Fallende Stern) by Harald Braun

The Forbidden Christ ( IlCristo proibito) by Curzio Malaparte

Four in a Jeep (Die Vier im Jeep) by Leopold Lindtberg

The Honesty of the Lock by Luis Escobar

Los Isleros by Lucas Demare

Juliette, or Key of Dreams (Juliette ou La clef des songes) by Marcel Carné

Különös házasság by Márton Keleti

The Last Mission (Teleftaia apostoli) by Nikos Tsiforos

The Marihuana Story (Marihuana) by León Klimovsky

Miracle in Milan (Miracolo a Milano) by Vittorio De Sica

Mirror of Holland ” (Spiegel van Holland) by Bert Haanstra

Miss Julie (Fröken Julie) by Alf Sjöberg

Mussorgsky (Musorgskiy) by Grigori Roshal

The New China (Osvobozhdyonnyy kitay) by Sergei Gerasimov

Los Olvidados by Luis Buñuel

Paris Vice Squad ( JudicialIdentity) by Hervé Bromberger
Path of Hope ( IlCammino della speranza) by Pietro Germi

A Place in the Sun by George Stevens

Reckless (Balarrasa) by José Antonio Nieves Conde

Rumbo by Ramón Torrado

Side Street Story (Napoli milionaria) by Eduardo De Filippo

The Sin of Harold Diddlebock by Preston Sturges

The Tales of Hoffmann by Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger

Die Tödlichen Träume by Paul Martin

The Trap (Past) by Martin Frič

Unvanquished City (Robinson warszawski) by Jerzy Zarzycki

La Virgen gitana by Ramón Torrado

The Yacht Isabel Arrived This Afternoon ( LaBalandra Isabel llegó esta tarde) by

Carlos Hugo Christensen and Luis Guillermo Villegas Blanco


Alf Sjöberg, Grand Prix winner

Vittorio De Sica, Grand Prix winner

Bert Haanstra, Grand Prix winner

Feature Films

Grand Prix:
Miss Julie by Alf Sjöberg
Miracle in Milan by Vittorio De Sica
Mirror of Holland  (Spiegel van Holland) by Bert Haanstra

Special Prize Jury: All About Eve by Joseph L. Mankiewicz

Best Director: Luis Buñuel for Los Olvidados

Best Actress: Bette Davis for All About Eve

Best Actor: Michael Redgrave for The Browning Version

Best Screenplay: Terence Rattigan for The Browning Version

Best Music: Joseph Kosma for Juliette

Best Cinematography: José María Beltrán for La Balandra Isabel llegó esta tarde

Best Art Direction: Abram Veksler for Musorgskiy

Special Award: The Tales of Hoffmann by Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger

Short Films

Special Jury Prize
The East-West Way by K. Gordon Murray
Ukraine in Flowers by Mikhail Slutsky
Soviet Latvia by F. Kissiliov
Soviet Azerbaijan by F. Kissiliov and M. Dadachev
Soviet Esthonie by V. Tomber and I. Guidine

Grand Prize of the Film Festival for the Best Scientific Film:

The Eruption of Etna by Domenico Paolella