Cannes Film Fest 1999: Year 52–Dardenne Brothers Win for Rosetta

The 52nd Cannes Film Fest was held May 12–23, 1999.

The Palme d’Or went to the Belgian film Rosetta, by the brothers, Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne.

The festival opened with a very weak film, Mikhalkov’s The Barber of Siberia.

It closed with An Ideal Husband, directed by Oliver Parker.


 David Cronenberg (Canada) (jury president)
  • André Téchiné (France)
  • Barbara Hendricks (Sweden)
  • Dominique Blanc (France)
  • Doris Dörrie (Germany)
  • George Miller (Australia)
  • Holly Hunter (US)
  • Jeff Goldblum (US)
  • Maurizio Nichetti (Italy)
  • Yasmina Reza (France)

Feature film competition

  • 8½ Women by Peter Greenaway
  • Cradle Will Rock by Tim Robbins
  • El coronel no tiene quien le escriba by Arturo Ripstein
  • Felicia’s Journey by Atom Egoyan
  • Ghessé hayé kish by Abolfazl Jalili, Mohsen Makhmalbaf, Nasser Taghvai
  • Ghost Dog: The Way of the Samurai by Jim Jarmusch
  • Jing Ke ci Qin Wang by Chen Kaige
  • Kadosh by Amos Gitai
  • Kikujirô no natsu by Takeshi Kitano
  • L’humanité by Bruno Dumont
  • La balia by Marco Bellocchio
  • La letter by Manoel de Oliveira
  • Le temps retrouvé, d’après l’oeuvre de Marcel Proust by Raúl Ruiz
  • Limbo by John Sayles
  • Molokh by Alexander Sokurov
  • Nos vies heureuses by Jacques Maillot
  • Pola X by Leos Carax
  • Rosetta by Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Luc Dardenne
  • The Straight Story by David Lynch
  • Tin seung yan gaan by Nelson Yu Lik-wai
  • Todo sobre mi madre by Pedro Almodóvar
  • Wonderland by Michael Winterbottom

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard poster, original illustration by Assane N’ Doye.

Vanaprastham by Shaji N. Karun
  • As Bodas de Deus by João César Monteiro
  • Away with Words by Christopher Doyle
  • Beautiful People by Jasmin Dizdar
  • Beresina oder Die letzten Tage der Schweiz by Daniel Schmid
  • Kaizokuban Bootleg Film by Masahiro Kobayashi
  • L’autre by Youssef Chahine
  • Garage Olimpo by Marco Bechis
  • Harem Suare by Ferzan Özpetek
  • If I Give You my Humbleness, Don’t Take Away my Pride by Karin Westerlund
  • Judy Berlin by Eric Mendelsohn
  • La genèse by Cheick Oumar Sissoko Les passagers by Jean-Claude Guiguet
  • Marana Simhasanam by Murali Nair
  • Nadia et les hippopotames by Dominique Cabrera
  • Peau neuve by Émilie Deleuze
  • Ratcatcher by Lynne Ramsay
  • Sicilia! by Jean-Marie Straub, Danièle Huillet
  • So Close to Paradise by Wang Xiaoshuai
  • Zheng hun qi shi by Chen Kuo-Fu
  • The Shade by Raphael Nadjari
  • The Winslow Boy by David Mamet
  • Tian ma cha fang by Lin Chen-Sheng

Films out of competition

  • Adieu, plancher des vaches! by Otar Iosseliani
  • An Ideal Husband by Oliver Parker
  • Dogma by Kevin Smith
  • EDtv by Ron Howard
  • Entrapment by Jon Amiel
  • Mein liebster Feind by Werner Herzog
  • The Barber of Siberia by Nikita Mikhalkov
  • The Limey by Steven Soderbergh


  • Palme d’Or: Rosetta by Jean-Pierre Dardenne and Luc Dardenne
  • Grand Prize of the Jury: L’humanite by Bruno Dumont
  • Jury Prize: La lettre by Manoel de Oliveira
  • Best Actor: Emmanuel Schotté for L’humanité
  • Best Actress: Tie
    • Séverine Caneele for L’humanité
    • Émilie Dequenne for Rosetta
  • Best Director: Pedro Almodóvar for Todo sobre mi madre
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: When the Day Breaks by Wendy Tilby and Amanda Forbis
  • Best Screenplay: Molokh by Juri Arabov
  • Technical Grand Prize: Tin seung yan gaan by Juhua Tu
  • Caméra d’Or: Marana Simhasanam by Murali Nair
  • Cinéfondation Award:
    • Second Hand by Emily Young
    • Im Hukim by Dover Koshashvili
    • La puce by Emmanuelle Bercot
  • Cinefondation Award – Special Mention: Inter-View by Jessica Hausner
  • Un Certain Regard Award: Beautiful People by Jasmin Dizdar
  • Mercedes-Benz Award: Flores de otro mundo by Icíar Bollaín
  • Canal+ Award: Shoes Off! by Mark Sawers
  • Kodak Short Film Award: Un petit air de fête by Eric Guirado
  • Kodak Short Film Award – Special Mention Ô trouble by Sylvia Calle
  • Grand Golden Rail: Siam Sunset by John Polson
  • C.I.C.A.E. Award: Qui plume la lune? by Christine Carrière
  • Gras Savoye Award: Un château en Espagne by Delphine Gleize
  • FIPRESCI Prize:
    • Peau neuve by Émilie Deleuze (Competition)
    • M/Other by Nobuhiro Suwa (Parallel Sections)
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: Todo sobre mi madre by Pedro Almodóvar
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury – Special Mention: Rosetta by Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Luc Dardenne
  • France Culture Award: Jean-Claude Biette (for his whole work)
  • Award of the Youth:
    • Foreign Film: The Blair Witch Project by Daniel Myrick, Eduardo Sánchez
    • French Film: Voyages by Emmanuel Finkiel
  • François Chalais Award: L’autre by Youssef Chahine