Cannes Film Fest 1982: Year 35–Missing and Yol Share Top Award

The 35th Cannes Film Fest was held on May 14–26.

The Palme d’Or was jointly shared by Costa Gavras’ Missing and Yol by Şerif Gören and Yılmaz Güney.

The festival opened with the classic silent, Intolerance, directed by D. W. Griffith.

It closed with Spielberg’s blockbuster, E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial.

Jury Members

  • Giorgio Strehler (Italy) (president)
  • Jean-Jacques Annaud (France)
  • Suso Cecchi d’Amico (Italy)
  • Geraldine Chaplin (USA)
  • Gabriel García Márquez (Colombia)
  • Florian Hopf (West Germany)
  • Sidney Lumet (USA)
  • Mrinal Sen (India)
  • Claude Soule (France) (CST official)
  • René Thévenet (France)

Official Selection

Feature film competition

  • À toute allure by Robert Kramer
  • A Ilha dos Amores by Paulo Rocha
  • Ah Q zheng zhuan by Fan Cen
  • Britannia Hospital by Lindsay Anderson
  • Cecilia by Humberto Solás
  • Douce enquête sur la violence by Gérard Guérin
  • Egymásra nézve (Olelkezo tekintetek) by Károly Makk
  • Fitzcarraldo by Werner Herzog
  • Hammett by Wim Wenders
  • Identificazione di una donna by Michelangelo Antonioni
  • Invitation au voyage by Peter Del Monte
  • La Notte di San Lorenzo by Paolo and Vittorio Taviani
  • La Nuit de Varennes by Ettore Scola
  • Missing by Costa Gavras
  • Moonlighting by Jerzy Skolimowski
  • Passion by Jean-Luc Godard
  • The Return of the Soldier by Alan Bridges
  • Shoot the Moon by Alan Parker
  • Smithereens by Susan Seidelman(US, indie)
  • Tag der Idioten by Werner Schroeter
  • Vent de sable by Mohammed Lakhdar-Hamina
  • Yol by Şerif Gören and Yılmaz Güney

Un Certain Regard

  • Les petites guerres by Maroun Bagdadi
  • Cinq et la peau by Pierre Rissient
  • Das Tripas Coração by Ana Carolina
  • Elia Kazan Outsider by Annie Tresgot
  • Elippathayam by Adoor Gopalakrishnan
  • Finye by Souleymane Cissé
  • Forty Deuce by Paul Morrissey
  • Kundskabens træ by Nils Malmros
  • Lettre à Freddy Buache by Jean-Luc Godard
  • Monkey Grip by Ken Cameron
  • Nasvidenje v naslednji vojni by Živojin Pavlović
  • O lacrima de fata by Iosif Demian
  • Roza by Hristoforos Hristofis
  • Une villa aux environs de New York by Benoît Jacquot

Films out of competition

  • Bonjour Mr. Lewis by Robert Benayoun
  • Brel by Frédéric Rossif
  • Chronopolis by Piotr Kamler
  • Creepshow by George A. Romero
  • E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial by Steven Spielberg
  • Intolerance by D. W. Griffith
  • Le mystère Picasso by Henri-Georges Clouzot
  • Parsifal by Hans-Jürgen Syberberg
  • Pink Floyd The Wall by Alan Parker


Parallel sections

International Critics’ Week

  • The Angel by Patrick Bokanowski
  • Czule miejsca by Piotr Andrejew
  • Jom by Ababacar Samb-Makharam
  • The Painter by Güran Du Rees and Christina Olofson
  • Half a Life by Romain Goupil
  • Parti sans laisser d’adresse by Jacqueline Veuve
  • Awards

 Palme d’Or:Missing by Costa Gavras and Yol by Şerif Gören and Yılmaz Güney

  • Grand Prix: La Notte di San Lorenzo by Paolo and Vittorio Taviani
  • Best Actor: Jack Lemmon for Missing
  • Best Actress: Jadwiga Jankowska-Cieślak for Egymásra nézve
  • Best Director: Werner Herzog for Fitzcarraldo
  • Best Screenplay: Jerzy Skolimowski for Moonlighting
  • Best Artistic Contribution: Bruno Nuytten (cinematographer) for Invitation au voyage
  • Honorary Award: “Hommage à Satyajit Ray” to Satyajit Ray.
  • Technical Grand Prize: Raoul Coutard (cinematographer) for Passion
  • 35th Anniversary Prize: Identificazione di una donna by Michelangelo Antonioni
  • Caméra d’Or: Half a Life by Romain Goupil
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: Merlin ou le cours de l’or by Arthur Joffé
  • Jury Prize – Best Short Film: Meow by Marcos Magalhães
  • FIPRESCI Prize:
    • Another Way by Károly Makk (special award)
    • Les fleurs sauvages by Jean Pierre Lefebvre
    • Yol by Şerif Gören and Yilmaz Güney (Unanimously)
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: The Night of the Shooting Stars by Paolo and Vittorio Taviani
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury – Special Mention:
    • Dhil al ardh by Taieb Louhichi
    • Yol by Şerif Gören and Yilmaz Güney
  • Award of the Youth:
    • Foreign Film: Time Stands Still by Péter Gothár
    • French Film: Half a Life by Romain Goupil