Paw (aka Boy of Two Worlds) (1959): Denmark’s Oscar Nominee (Boy, Family)

Paw (aka Boy of Two Worlds) is a Danish film directed by Astrid Henning-Jensen.

Paw FilmPoster.jpeg

Poster with the film’s alternative title: Boy of Two Worlds

A boy from the Caribbean, affected by the deaths of his parents and maiden aunt, escapes to the Danish forest.

It was nominated for the Best Foreign Language Film Oscar, but did not win; the winner was the French entry, Black Orpheus by Marius Camus.

The movie played at the 1960 Cannes Film Festival.

In the U.S., the film was released by G. G. Communications under the title Boy from Two Worlds; 12 minutes were cut from the original 100-minute running time.

Edvin Adolphson as Anders
Jimmy Sterman as Paw
Asbjørn Andersen as Gutsbesitzer
Ninja Tholstrup as Yvonne
Helge Kjærulff-Schmidt as Lehrer
Karen Lykkehus as Fräulein Bo
Preben Neergaard as Søofficer
Karl Stegger as Betjent Hansen
Ebba Amfeldt as Fru Hansen
Svend Bille as Onkel Pot
Ego Brønnum-Jacobsen as Mand ved skydetelt
Otto Hallstrøm
Mogens Hermansen as Godsejerens skytte
Grethe Høholdt as Betjentens datter Inger
Finn Lassen as Forstander på børnehjemmet


Directed by Astrid Henning-Jensen
Screenplay by Astrid Henning-Jensen, Bjarne Henning-Jensen, based on Paw, der Indianerjunge by Torry Gredsted
Produced by Mogens Skot-Hansen
Cinematography Henning Bendtsen
Edited by Anker Sørensen
Music by Herman D. Koppel

Production company: Laterna

Distributed by US: G. G. Communications

Release date: Denmark: December 18, 1959; US: April 1970

Running time: Denmark: 100 minutes; US: 88 minutes