Spike Lee: “God Willing We’ll All Be Back Working Together”

Spike Lee at Location Managers Guild Awards: “God Willing We’ll All Be Back Working Together”


Spike Lee
Courtesy of Montblanc

“God willing we’ll all be back working together,” said Spike Lee as he accepted the Trailblazer Award on Saturday during a virtual presentation of the 7th annual Location Managers Guild International Awards.

Lee saluted location managers, saying without them, “I would not be able do what I do” as he rarely shoots on sets. “I’m out in the streets; I love shooting in the streets of New York City, especially the people’s republic of Brooklyn, New York. And I’m looking forward to going back. I know we all are. … Wear a mask, be safe.”

On Saturday, the Guild held a virtual ceremony that lasted just one hour and (held at 2 p.m. PT) attracted an international group of award recipients as well as an audience. The chat room was abuzz with guests greeting each other from cities around the U.S, as well as international destinations including Argentina, Canada, Mexico, Mallorca, Poland and the UK. “Guten Abend aus Berlin” wrote one and “Ciao a tutti da Roma” posted another guest.

During the presentation, Gary Sinise received the Humanitarian Award for establishing the Gary Sinise Foundation that serves America’s defenders, veterans, first responders, Gold Star families and those in need. “America’s families defend us all,” he said. “We owe a great debt to our freedom protectors, and we can never do enough to support them. They and their families sacrifice so much.”

Sinise read a quote from President Calvin Coolidge — “The nation which forgets its defenders will itself be forgotten” — and pledged to work so that we “remember where our precious freedom comes from and that the sacrifices made to protect that freedom are never forgotten or taken for granted.”

Christopher McQuarrie received this year’s Eva Monley Award, which he accepted from on location in Norway where he’s working on Mission: Impossible 7.

Veteran location manager Veronique Vowell was bestowed the Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Winners included the location managers of productions including Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, The Last Black Man in San Francisco and Perry Mason. The award for outstanding film commission was presented to the commission in Toscana.

Isaiah Mustafa hosted the ceremony, and presenters include Noah Wyle, Tim Williams, Joe Mantegna, Damaris Lewis, Sylvia Hoeks, Jim Cashman, Graham McTavish, Edgar Wright and Blair Underwood.

Guild president Mike Fantasia welcomed viewers while dressed in a tuxedo shirt, tie, jacket and shorts while outdoors on a Montana location.

The live stream of the event began with a half-hour pre-show hosted by location manager David Doumeng (sitting in an empty bar with a martini and Biden/Harris mask) that included stills and video from past ceremonies.

The complete list of winners follows:


WINNER Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Columbia Pictures, Rick Schuler /LMGI, Steve Mapel /LMGI

1917 – DreamWorks Pictures, Emma Pill /LMGI

Dolemite is My Name – Netflix , David B. Lyons /LMGI, Russel Hadaya

A Hidden Life – Fox Searchlight Pictures, Markus Bensch /LMGI, Leo Baumgartner

Jojo Rabbit – Fox Searchlight Pictures, Jan Adler /LMGI

Little Women – Sony Pictures, Douglas Dresser /LMGI, Kyle “Snappy” Oliver /LMGI



WINNER The Last Black Man in San Francisco – A24    Daniel Lee /LMGI

6 Underground – Bay Films, Skydance Media, Netflix, Enrico Latella /LMGI, Simon Crook /LMGI

Da 5 Bloods – 40 Acres and a Mule Filmworks, Netflix, Nui Voradet Emeam

Extraction – Netflix, Mary Barltrop /LMGI

Peanut Butter Falcon – Armory Films, Roadside Attractions, Jody Schiesser



WINNER Perry Mason – HBO Jonathan Jansen /LMGI, Alexander Georges /LMGIBrian Kinney /LMGI, Alex Moreno /LMGI

Babylon Berlin:Season 3– X Filme Creative Pool, Netflix: David Pieper /LMGI

The Crown: Season 3 – Netflix, Pat Karam /LMGI, Pedro “Tate” Aråez /LMGI

See: Season 1 – Apple TV+, Trevor Brokop, Nick Bergstedt, Michael Gazetas /LMGI (posthumous)

Westworld: Season 3 – HBO Mandi Dillin /LMGI, Michael Wesley /LMGI

Wu-Tang: An American Saga – Hulu,  Rob Coleman, Mike Mizrahi, Dexter Wiseman



WINNER Killing Eve: Season 3 – BBC America    Jamie Parsons, Jordi Utset, Lucian Asan

Gigi/Haji – Netflix, Antonia Grant, Idris Ahmed, Tooru Hayakawa, Katsumasa Morita

Goliath: Season 3 – Amazon Prime Video, Scott Poole, Errol Reichow /LMGI

Messiah – NetflixWendell Hinkle, Marco Giacalone /LMGI, Hilton Clay Peres /LMGI

Treadstone – Captivate Entertainment, USA NetworkImre Légmån /LMGI, Rosita Cannata, Bong Cho, Wesker Hsing

White Lines – NetflixGermån Traver, Leon Seth



WINNER-TIE Little America – Apple TV+ Mike Hartel, Rocco Nisivoccia, Adrian Knight /LMGI

WINNER-TIE ZeroZeroZero – Amazon Prime Video    Gianni Antonio Grazioli, Christian Peritore, Juan Pablo Noval, Lily Flaschner, Virginia McCollam, Babacar Seck,  Zoubir Belgsir, Hicham Jamaledine

Belgravia – EpixMark “Sparky” EllisCatherine the Great – HBO, Vytautas Riabovas, Kestas Cicenasas, Svetlana Lukash

The Plot Against America – HBOMatthew Kania

The Spy – Netflix Rabi El Bakki, Zsuzsa Gregua, Zsolt Valkony


WINNER Mask of the Zodiac  (Stink Shanghai) Ben Qian, Allen Cao

Ford: Human Power (Primo) Alejando Bresciani

Georgetown Optician: Eyes Say More Than Words (Design Army) Dean Alexander

Gucci: Of Course A Horse (GE-Projects) Beau Bright

Renault Clio: The French Exchange  (Academy Films) Mark Jones, Eugene Strange

Sprite “You Are Not Alone”  (Primo) Hernan Dal Maso


WINNER Toscana Film Commission

Abu Dhabi Film Commission

Berlin Brandenberg Film Commission

The Municipality of Port Hope Marketing & Tourism Office, Port Hope, Ontario

New Jersey Motion Picture & Television Commission