Oscar 2013: National Board of Review Awards

The National Board of Review on Wednesday revealed its awards for 2013, naming Spike Jonze‘s Her the Best Film of the Year. Jonze also earned Best Director honors for his work helming the Warner Bros. movie about a man (Joaquin Phoenix) who falls in love with a computer operating system (voiced by Scarlett Johansson).

“Spike Jonze is one of the most talented and visionary filmmakers working today,” Annie Schulhof, NBR president, said in a statement. “In Her, he explores the age-old themes of love and human connection in a completely fresh and innovative way. It is an outstanding achievement that is sure to become a new classic.”

Bruce Dern was named best actor for his work in Nebraska, with Emma Thompson taking the Best Actress prize for her role in Saving Mr. Banks. Dern’s Nebraska co-star Will Forte earned Best Supporting Actor honors, with Fruitvale Station‘s Octavia Spencer taking the Best Supporting Actress award. The Coen brothers won Best Original Screenplay for Inside Llewyn Davis, with The Wolf of Wall Street taking Best Adapted Screenplay honors, its first major award of the season.

Fruitvale Stations on two other awards: Breakthrough Performance (Michael B. Jordan) and Best Directorial Debut (Ryan Coogler).

Although American Hustle was a two-time winner of yesterday’s New York Film Critics Circle Awards, the film was shut out by NBR, not even making its list of top films. Heavily favored 12 Years a Slave also was shut out but was named one of the organization’s top films. Another favorite among Oscar pundits, Gravity, was honored only with the Creative Innovation in Filmmaking Award, but it too was named one of NBR’s top films.

The awards will be presented at a Jan. 7 gala in New York to be hosted by Good Morning America co-anchor Lara Spencer.

A full list of winners follows.

Best Film:  Her
Best Director: Spike Jonze, Her
Best Actor: Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Best Actress: Emma Thompson, Saving Mr. Banks
Best Supporting Actor: Will Forte, Nebraska
Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer, Fruitvale Station
Best Original Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen, Inside Llewyn Davis
Best Adapted Screenplay: Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street
Best Animated Feature: The Wind Rises
Breakthrough Performance: Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station Breakthrough Performance: Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue Is the Warmest Color
Best Directorial Debut: Ryan Coogler, Fruitvale Station
Best Foreign Language Film:  The Past
Best Documentary: Stories We Tell
William K. Everson Film History Award: George Stevens Jr.
Best Ensemble:  Prisoners
Spotlight Award: Career Collaboration of Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: Wadjda
Creative Innovation in Filmmaking Award: Gravity
Top Films (in alphabetical order)
Fruitvale Station
Inside Llewyn Davis
Lone Survivor
Saving Mr. Banks
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty
12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street
Top 5 Foreign Language Films  (in alphabetical order)
Beyond the Hills
The Grandmaster
A Hijacking
The Hunt
Top 5 Documentaries  (in alphabetical order)
The Act of Killing
After Tiller
Casting By
The Square
20 Feet From Stardom 
Top 10 Independent Films  (in alphabetical order)
Ain’t Them Bodies Saints
Dallas Buyers Club
In a World …
Mother of George
Much Ado About Nothing
The Place Beyond the Pines
Short Term 12
The Spectacular Now