Oscar 2012: Ben Affleck (Argo) Wins Directors Guild Award

Ben Affleck won the Directors Guild of America award for “Argo,” a week after winning the PGA and SAG ensemble awards.

He won over Kathryn Bigelow for “Zero Dark Thirty,” Tom Hooper for “Les Miserables,” Ang Lee for “Life of Pi” and Steven Spielberg, “Lincoln.”

The announcement brought a loud cheer for Affleck, who remained self-deprecating in his acceptance. “‘I don’t think this makes me a real director but I think I’m on my way,” he said.

It’s only the third film Afflec has directed following “Gone Baby Gone” and “The Town.”

Michel Hazanavicius, last year’s winner for “The Artist,” presented the award at the Ray Dobly Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland.

Saturday night’s DGA win for Affleck came in spite of his not receiving an Oscar directing nomination on Jan. 10. He won a Golden Globe three days later for directing the Warner Bros. hostage drama. Affleck will become only the seventh DGA winner not to receive a directing Oscar in the 65 years of DGA awards.

“Searching for Sugar Man” continued to rack up trophhies, winning the documentary award, a week after winning the PGA Award for Malik Bendjelloul for his film about Rodriguez, who disappeared from the U.S. music scene in the 1970s — only to see his music become popular a decade letter in South Africa.

In his accepance, Bendjelloul noted that Rodriguez was on a flight to perform in South Africa.

Lena Dunham won the DGA award for best comedy series for the “Girls” pilot for HBO, topping “30 Rock,” “Big Bang Theory,” “Louis” and Emmy series winner “Modern Family.”

Rian Johnson won the drama series award for *Breaking Bad” over two segs of “Homeland” — which won the Emmy for drama series — along with episodes of “Mad Men” and “The Newsroom.”

Jay Roach and “Game Change” went back to back for TV movie-miniseries, taking his second trophy in a week after winning the PGA trophy in the same category. It’s also his second DGA award after winning for another political drama, 2008’s “Recount.”

Jill Mitwell won her fourth DGA trophy for daytime serials for “One Life to Live,” which has ended its network run.

Glenn Weiss also won a fourth DGA award for variety for the 66th Annual Tony Awards. He won the category last year for the Tonycast.

Paul Hoen took the award for children’s programming for Disney’s “Let It Shine.”

Brian Smith won the reality award for “Master Chef” and Alejandro Inarritu took the commercials award.