Oscar: Best Picture Winners from Fox (and Fox Searchlight)

In practice, 20th Century Fox ceased to exist as an independent entity when its board of directors voted in favor of a merger with Disney.

For the records, in 90 years of Oscar history, Fox has won 13 Best Pictures (about 14 percent).

The following Oscar-winning films were made and/or released by Fox and/or Fox Searchlight:

1933: Cavalcade

1944: How Green Was My Valley

1947: Gentleman’s Agreement

1950: All About Eve (record of 14 nominations)

1965: The Sound of Music

1970: Patton

1971: The French Connection

1995: Braveheart (international)

1997: Titanic (international) (14 nominations)

2008: Slumdog Millionaire (Fox Searchlight, FS)

2013: 12 Years a Slave (FS)

2014: Birdman (FS)

2017: The Shape of Water (FS)