Cannes Film Fest 1946: Year 1–Strong Hollywood Presence, Winners in All Categories

Cannes Film Festival 75th Anniversary

I am delighted to report that I have been chosen to serve on the International Critics Jury of the upcoming Cannes Film Fest, held May 17-28, as representative of the U.S. contingency of film critics.

It will mark my 68th jury service since 1985, and my fifth at the Cannes Film Fest, which I had begun attending in 1984, when Jim Jarmusch, then an unknown filmmaker, won the Camera d’Or prize for his second feature, Stranger Than Paradise.

Celebrating the 75th anniversary of the Cannes Film Fest, the most prestigious and influential film event in the world.

Over the next month, we will be running special editions of the Cannes Film Fest, year by year, from 1946 to the present.

The first Cannes Film Festival was held September 20 to October 5, 1946.

Jury for the Feature films and Shorts:

Georges Huisman (France) (historian, president)

Iris Barry (USA)

Beaulieu (Canada)

Antonin Brousil (Czechoslovakia)

J.H.J. De Jong (Netherlands)

Don Tudor (Romania)

Samuel Findlater (UK)

Sergei Gerasimov (Soviet Union)

Jan Korngold (Poland)

Domingos Mascarenhas (Portugal)

Hugo Mauerhofer (Switzerland)

Filippo Mennini (Italy)

Moltke-Hansen (Norway)

Fernand Rigot (Belgium)

Kjell Stromberg (Sweden)

Rodolfo Usigli (Mexico)

Youssef Wahby (Egypt)

Helge Wamberg (Denmark)

Films in Competition

Feature films

Amanti in fuga, directed by Giacomo Gentilomo

Anna and the King of Siam, directed by John Cromwell (US)

Blod och eld directed by Anders Henrikson

Brevet fra afdøde directed by Johan Jacobsen

Brief Encounter directed by David Lean (UK)

Caesar and Cleopatra directed by Gabriel Pascal (UK)

Camões directed by José Leitão de Barros

Chelovek No. 217 directed by Mikhail Romm

De Røde Enge directed by Bodil Ipsen, Lau Lauritzen, Jr.

Die Letzte Chance directed by Léopold Lindtberg

Dunia directed by Muhammad Karim

Floarea reginei directed by Paul Calinescu

Gaslight, directed by George Cukor (US), featuring Ingrid Bergman in her first Oscar-winning performance.

Gilda directed by Charles Vidor (US)

Glinka directed by Lev Arnchtam

Iris och löjtnantshjärta directed by Alf Sjöberg

Il bandito directed by Alberto Lattuada

Kamennyy tsvetok directed by Aleksandr Ptouchko

La Bataille du Rail directed by René Clement

La Belle et La Bête directed by Jean Cocteau

La symphonie pastorale directed by Jean Delannoy

Le Miserie del Signor Travet directed by Mario Soldati

Le Père tranquille directed by René Clement

Un revenant directed by Christian-Jaque

Los tres mosqueteros directed by Miguel M. Delgado

Make Mine Music directed by Joshua Meador, Clyde Geronimi, Jack Kinney, Bob Cormack, Hamilton Luske

Maria Candelaria directed by Emilio Fernández

Muzi bez krídel directed by Frantisek Cap

Neecha Nagar directed by Chetan Anand

Nezbedný bakalár directed by Otakar Vavra

Notorious directed by Alfred Hitchcock (US)

Patrie directed by Louis Daquin

Rhapsody in Blue directed by Irving Rapper

Roma Citta Aperta directed by Roberto Rossellini

The Captive Heart directed by Basil Dearden

The Lost Weekend directed by Billy Wilder

The Magic Bow directed by Bernard Knowles

The Seventh Veil directed by Compton Bennet (UK)

Três Dias Sem Deus directed by Barbara Virginia

Un giorno nella vita directed by Alessandro Blasetti

Velikiy Perelom directed by Fridrikh Ermler

Wonder Man directed by H. Bruce Humberstone

Zdravstvuy, Moskva! directed by Sergei Yutkevich

Zoya directed by Lev Arnchtam


Feature Films

Grand Prize of the Festival: Tie

Brief Encounter by David Lean

Iris och löjtnantshjärta by Alf Sjöberg

The Last Chance by Leopold Lindtberg

The Lost Weekend by Billy Wilder

María Candelaria (Xochimilco) by Emilio Fernández

Men Without Wings by Frantisek Cáp

Neecha Nagar by Chetan Anand

Red Meadows by Bodil Ipsen and Lau Lauritzen Jr.

Rome, Open City by Roberto Rossellini

La symphonie pastorale by Jean Delannoy

Velikiy perelom by Fridrikh Ermler

International Jury Prize:

La Bataille du rail by René Clément

Best Actor: Ray Milland for The Lost Weekend

Best Actress: Michèle Morgan for La symphonie pastorale

Best Director: René Clément for La Bataille du rail

Best Cinematography: Gabriel Figueroa for María Candelari (Xochimilco) and Los tres mosqueteros

Best Animation Design: Make Mine Music

Best Colour: The Stone Flower

International Peace Award: The Last Chance


Held after WWII, the Cannes Festival showed Hollywood movies that were made in 1944, such as George Cukor’s noir thriller Gaslight, starring Ingrid Bergman in her first Oscar winning role, and Billy Wilder’s 1945 Best Picture Oscar winner, The Lost Weekend.