Spirit Awards 2022: How to Watch Live

The annual shindig honoring the best in indie film will air live on IFC and stream for subscribers on AMC+.

This year’s show is also available for the first time at select AMC Theatres via the AMC Stubs program. In Canada, it will stream exclusively at hollywoodsuite.ca. On social media, live updates and content will be available via Film Independent (@filmindependent) and IFC (@ifc).

The ceremony is being hosted this year by Nick Offerman and Megan Mullally, who will preside over a show that will see winners announced in 16 competitive film categories and five in TV.

Presenters expected today include honorary chair Kristen Stewart, recently nominated for an Oscar for Spencer, who will be joined by Dianna Agron, Javier Bardem, Murray Bartlett, Jennifer Beals, Rosario Dawson, Daveed Diggs, Colman Domingo, Jay Duplass, Mark Duplass, Daisy Edgar-Jones, Hannah Einbinder, Bridget Everett, Andrew Garfield, Regina Hall, Lily James, Marlee Matlin, Bob Odenkirk, Sam Richardson, Rhea Seehorn, Sebastian Stan, Sydney Sweeney, Taika Waititi, Michelle Yeoh and Chloé Zhao.

Less Crossover

As for nominees at the 37th show, which celebrates films with budgets under $22.5 million, there is less crossover with the Oscars nominees this year than usual. Nominees for the Best Picture category are A ChiaraC’mon C’monThe Lost DaughterThe Novice and Zola.  The latter two movies leading the pack with five and seven overall nominations, respectively.

A24, Neon and Netflix come in with the most nominations among distributors.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards are Film Independent’s primary fundraiser for the year with winners are voted on by members.