There Will Be Blood: P.T. Anderson Wins Fipresci Best Film of the Year

Sep 2, 2008–“There Will Be Blood” Wins Grand Prix of FIPRESCI. The choice was unmistakable among the 242 members of FIPRESCI who sent in their votes from all over the world: Paul Thomas Anderson’s “There Will Be Blood” was voted Best Film of the Year, and is therefore the winner of the FIPRESCI Grand Prix 2008.

The U.S. filmmaker will receive the award on September 18th, during the opening ceremony of the San Sebastian Festival (, which hosts the Grand Prix since its creation in 1999.

Paul Thomas Anderson had already received the Grand Prix in 2000, for “Magnolia”. Jean-Luc Godard, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Kim Ki-Duk and Cristian Mungiu are some of the other recipients of this award created by FPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics, to distinguish a film from the past year for its overall artistic quality.

“There Will Be Blood” will be shown during the San Sebastian Festival at a special screening.