Ludwig, Edward: Director Career, Filmography

Edward Irving Ludwig was born on October 7, 1899 in Russia. He arrived in the US from Canada on March 6, 1911, and became a naturalized citizen on December 23, 1932,

He died on August 20, 1982, at the age of 82.

He directed nearly 100 films between 1921 and 1963 (some under the names Edward I. Luddy and Charles Fuhr).

Ludwig was also one of the directors of John Payne’s NBC western series “The Restless Gun” (1957-1959). Ludwig and Erle C. Kenton were the chief directors of the CBS television series, “The Texan” (1958-1960), starring Rory Calhoun as a Robin Hood of the West.


Rip Van Winkle (1921)
The Man Who Waited (1922)
The Irresistible Lover (1927)
Spuds (1927)
Jake the Plumber (1927)
The Girl from Woolworth’s (1929)

See America Thirst (1930)
Steady Company (1932)
They Just Had to Get Married (1932)
A Woman’s Man (1934)
Let’s Be Ritzy (1934)
Friends of Mr. Sweeney (1934)
The Man Who Reclaimed His Head (1934)
Age of Indiscretion (1935)
Three Kids and a Queen (1935)
Old Man Rhythm (1935)
Adventure in Manhattan (1936)
Fatal Lady (1936)
The Last Gangster (1937)
Her Husband Lies (1937)
That Certain Age (1938)
Coast Guard (1939)

Swiss Family Robinson (1940)
The Man Who Lost Himself (1941)
Born to Sing (1942)
They Came to Blow Up America (1943)
Bomber’s Moon (co-director credited as “Charles Fuhr”; 1943)
The Fighting Seabees (1944) with John Wayne
Three Is a Family (1944)
The Fabulous Texan (1947)
Wake of the Red Witch (1948) with John Wayne
The Big Wheel (1949)


Smuggler’s Island (1951)
Caribbean (1952)
The Blazing Forest (1952)
Sangaree (1953)
The Vanquished (1953)
Jivaro (1954)
Flame of the Islands (1956)
The Black Scorpion (1957)

Maisie (1960)
The Gun Hawk (1963)