Presidential Medal of Freedom 2016: Obama Honors 21 Individuals including De Niro, Hanks, and Diana Ross

Robert De Niro, Tom Hanks, Diana Ross are among the honorees for this year’s Presidential Medal of Freedom.

On Wednesday, President  Obama unveiled the 21 recipients for one of the nation’s highest civilian honor, presented to individuals who have “made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors,” according to the White House.

This year’s Hollywood figures also include Ellen DeGeneres, Lorne Michaels, Robert Redford, Bruce Springsteen, Vin Scully and Cicely Tyson.

 “The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our nation’s highest civilian honor — it’s a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better,” Obama said. “From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way.”

The awards will take place Nov. 22 at the White House. The event will be streamed live via