New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC): Best Actor Winners, 1935-present

Research in Progress: Oct 3, 2021

Best Actor Winners

Unlike the Oscar Awards, actors cited by the New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC) can be honored for more than one performance in a given year.

1935 Charles Laughton (2 films) Mutiny on the Bounty Captain William Bligh; Ruggles of Red Gap Marmaduke Ruggles

1936 Walter Huston Dodsworth,Sam Dodsworth

1937 Paul Muni The Life of Emile Zola Émile Zola

1938 James Cagney Angels with Dirty Faces Rocky Sullivan

1939 James Stewart Mr. Smith Goes to Washington Jefferson “Jeff” Smith

1940 Charlie Chaplin The Great Dictator Hynkel Dictator of Tomania / Jewish Barber

1941 Gary Cooper Sergeant York Alvin York

1942 James Cagney Yankee Doodle Dandy George M. Cohan

1943 Paul Lukas Watch on the Rhine Kurt Muller

1944 Barry Fitzgerald Going My Way Father Fitzgibbon

1945 Ray Milland The Lost Weekend Don Birnam

1946 Laurence Olivier Henry V King Henry V of England

1947 William Powell Life with Father Clarence Day, Sr.; The Senator Was Indiscreet Senator Melvin G. Ashton

1948 Laurence Olivier Hamlet Hamlet

1949 Broderick Crawford All the King’s Men Willie Stark

1950 Gregory Peck Twelve O’Clock High Frank Savage

1951 Arthur Kennedy Bright Victory Larry Nevins

1952 Ralph Richardson The Sound Barrier John Ridgefield

1953 Burt Lancaster From Here to Eternity First Sergeant Milton Warden

1954 Marlon Brando On the Waterfront Terry Malloy

1955 Ernest Borgnine Marty Marty Piletti

1956 Kirk Douglas Lust for Life Vincent van Gogh

1957 Alec Guinness The Bridge on the River Kwai Lieutenant Colonel Nicholson

1958 David Niven Separate Tables Angus Pollock

1959 James Stewart Anatomy of a Murder Paul Biegler

1960 Burt Lancaster Elmer Gantry Elmer Gantry

1961 Maximilian Schell Judgment at Nuremberg Hans Rolfe

1962 No award given (newspaper strike)

1963 Albert Finney Tom Jones Tom Jones

1964 Rex Harrison My Fair Lady Henry Higgins

1965 Oskar Werner Ship of Fools Willie Schumann

1966 Paul Scofield A Man for All Seasons Sir Thomas More

1967 Rod Steiger In the Heat of the Night Police Chief Bill Gillespie

1968 Alan Arkin The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter John Singer

1969 Jon Voight Midnight Cowboy Joe Buck

1970 George C. Scott Patton George S. Patton, Jr.

1971 Gene Hackman The French Connection Jimmy “Popeye” Doyle

1972 Laurence Olivier Sleuth Andrew Wyke

1973 Marlon Brando Last Tango in Paris (Ultimo tango a Parigi) Paul

1974 Jack Nicholson Chinatown J. J. “Jake” Gittes; The Last Detail Signalman 1st Class Billy “Badass” Buddusky

1975 Jack Nicholson One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest Randle McMurphy

1976 Robert De Niro Taxi Driver Travis Bickle

1977 John Gielgud Providence Clive Langham

1978 Jon Voight Coming Home Luke Martin

1979 Dustin Hoffman Kramer vs. Kramer Ted Kramer

1980 Robert De Niro Raging Bull Jake LaMotta

1981 Burt Lancaster Atlantic City Lou Pascal

1982 Ben Kingsley Gandhi Mahatma Gandhi

1983 Robert Duvall Tender Mercies Mac Sledge

1984 Steve Martin All of Me Roger Cobb

1985 Jack Nicholson Prizzi’s Honor Charley Partanna

1986 Bob Hoskins Mona Lisa George Mortwell

1987 Jack Nicholson Broadcast News Bill Rorich
Ironweed Francis Phelan; The Witches of Eastwick Daryl Van Horne

1988 Jeremy Irons Dead Ringers Beverly Mantle / Elliot Mantle

1989 Daniel Day-Lewis My Left Foot Christy Brown

1990 Robert De Niro Awakenings Leonard Lowe; Goodfellas James “Jimmy the Gent” Conway

1991 Anthony Hopkins The Silence of the Lambs Dr. Hannibal Lecter

1992 Denzel Washington Malcolm X Malcolm X

1993 David Thewlis Naked Johnny

1994 Paul Newman Nobody’s Fool Donald “Sully” Sullivan

1995 Nicolas Cage Leaving Las Vegas Ben Sanderson

1996 Geoffrey Rush Shine David Helfgott

1997 Peter Fonda Ulee’s Gold Ulysses “Ulee” Jackson

1998 Nick Nolte Affliction Wade Whitehouse

1999 Richard Farnsworth The Straight Story Alvin Straight

2000 Tom Hanks Cast Away Chuck Noland

2001 Tom Wilkinson In the Bedroom Matt Fowler

2002 Daniel Day-Lewis Gangs of New York William “Bill the Butcher” Cutting

2003 Bill Murray Lost in Translation Bob Harris

2004 Paul Giamatti Sideways Miles Raymond

2005 Heath Ledger Brokeback Mountain Ennis Del Mar

2006 Forest Whitaker The Last King of Scotland Idi Amin

2007 Daniel Day-Lewis There Will Be Blood Daniel Plainview

2008 Sean Penn Milk Harvey Milk

2009 George Clooney Fantastic Mr. Fox Mr. Fox; Up in the Air Ryan Bingham

2010 Colin Firth The King’s Speech King George VI

2011 Brad Pitt Moneyball Billy Beane; The Tree of Life Mr. O’Brien

2012 Daniel Day-Lewis Lincoln Abraham Lincoln

2013 Robert Redford All Is Lost Our Man

2014 Timothy Spall Mr. Turner J. M. W. Turner

2015 Michael Keaton Spotlight Walter “Robby” Robinson

2016 Casey Affleck Manchester by the Sea Lee Chandler

2017 Timothée Chalamet Call Me by Your Name, Elio Perlman

2018 Ethan Hawke First Reformed, Reverend Ernst Toller

2019 Antonio Banderas Pain and Glory Salvador Mallo

2020 Delroy Lindo Da 5 Bloods, Paul


Multiple awards

4 wins

Daniel Day-Lewis (1989, 2002, 2007, 2012)
Jack Nicholson (1974, 1975, 1985, 1987)

3 wins

Robert De Niro (1976, 1980, 1990)
Burt Lancaster (1953, 1960, 1981)
Laurence Olivier (1946, 1948, 1972)

2 wins
Marlon Brando (1954, 1973)
James Cagney (1938, 1942)
James Stewart (1939, 1959)
Jon Voight (1969, 1978)