Oscar: Consecutive Wins–Actors

In the Academy’s entire history, 0nly five players have won two Oscars in a row: 4 in the lead categories and one in the supporting league.

Luise Rainer in 1936 and 1937

Spencer Tracy in 1937 and 1938

Katharine Hepburn in 1967 and 1968

Jason Robards in 1976 and 1977

Tom Hanks in 1993 and 1994.


Of the Oscar directors, only two have won consecutive Oscars:

John Ford for The Grapes of Wrath in 1940 and How Green Was My Valley in 1941

Joseph L. Mankiewicz for A Letter to Three Wives in 1949 and All About Eve in 1950.