Oscar 2007: Cinematographers Society Nominees

January 7, 2008–Cinematographers Roger Deakins, Robert Elswit, Janusz Kaminski and Seamus McGarvey will vie for top honors at the 22nd Annual American Society of Cinematographers awards.

Deakins, who received nominations for his work on “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford” and “No Country for Old Men, is the first cinematographer to nab two noms in a single year for the category.

Deakins previously won prizes from ASC for his contributions to “The Man Who Wasn't There” and “The Shawshank Redemption.” Past nominations also include “O Brother, Where Art Thou,” “Kudun” and “Fargo.”

“The Diving Bell and the Butterfly's” Kaminski returns for a fourth time, after being nominated for his work with Steven Spielberg on “Saving Private Ryan,” “Amistad” and “Schindler's List.”

Elswit, up this year for “There Will Be Blood,” scores his second nom from ASC. The filmmaker was nominated in 2006 for “Good Night, and Good Luck.”

McGarvey is honored for his work on “Atonement.” This is his first nomination.

The winner will be announced during the awards celebration on January 26 at the Hollywood and Highland Grand Ballroom