Cannes Film Fest 1969: Year 22–Lindsay Anderson’s If… Wins Top Award

The 22nd Cannes Film Fest was held from May 8 to 23, 1969.

At this edition, a new sidebar was established, Directors’ Fortnight.

The Grand Prix du Festival went to the If….by Lindsay Anderson.

The festival opened with the Hollywood musical Sweet Charity, directed by Bob Fosse, starring Shirley MacLaine.

Jury Members

Luchino Visconti (Italy) (president)
  • Chinghiz Aitmatov (Soviet Union)
  • Marie Bell (France)
  • Jaroslav Boček (Czechoslovakia)
  • Veljko Bulajić (Yugoslavia)
  • Stanley Donen (USA)
  • Jerzy Glucksman (Sweden) (student)
  • Robert Kanters (France) (critic)
  • Sam Spiegel (USA)

Feature film competition

  • Ådalen 31 by Bo Widerberg
  • The Appointment by Sidney Lumet (US)
  • Biće skoro propast sveta by Aleksandar Petrović
  • Calcutta by Louis Malle
  • Dillinger è morto by Marco Ferreri
  • Don’t Let the Angels Fall by George Kaczender
  • O Dragão da Maldade Contra o Santo Guerreiro (Antonio-das-mortes) by Glauber Rocha
  • Easy Rider by Dennis Hopper (US)
  • España otra vez by Jaime Camino
  • Faráruv konec by Evald Schorm
  • Flashback by Raffaele Andreassi
  • Le Grand amour by Pierre Étaix
  • If…. by Lindsay Anderson
  • Gli intoccabili by Giuliano Montaldo
  • Isadora by Karel Reisz
  • Ma nuit chez Maud by Éric Rohmer
  • Manden der tænkte ting by Jens Ravn
  • Matzor by Gilberto Tofano
  • Metti una sera a cena by Giuseppe Patroni Griffi
  • Michael Kohlhaas – Der Rebell by Volker Schlöndorff
  • Nihon no seishun by Masaki Kobayashi
  • Polowanie na muchy by Andrzej Wajda
  • The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Ronald Neame
  • Slaves by Herbert Biberman
  • Všichni dobří rodáci by Vojtěch Jasný
  • Z by Costa Gavras

Films out of competition

  • Andrei Rublev by Andrei Tarkovsky
  • Et L’Angleterre Sera Détruite by János Veiczi
  • L’amour de la vie by François Reichenbach
  • Zbehovia a pútnici by Juraj Jakubisko
  • Sweet Charity by Bob Fosse
  • That Cold Day in the Park by Robert Altman


  • Grand Prix du Festival International du Film: If….by Lindsay Anderson
  • Grand Prize of the Jury: Ådalen 31 by Bo Widerberg
  • Jury Prize: Z by Costa Gavras (Unanimously)
  • Best Actor: Jean-Louis Trintignant for Z
  • Best Actress: Vanessa Redgrave for Isadora
  • Best Director:
    • Glauber Rocha for O Dragão da Maldade Contra o Santo Guerreiro
    • Vojtěch Jasný for Všichni dobří rodáci
  • Technical Grand Prize – Special Mention:
    • Cîntecele Renasterii by Mirel Ilieşiu
    • Toccata by Herman van der Horst
    • Všichni dobří rodáci by Vojtěch Jasný
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: Cîntecele Renasterii by Mirel Ilieşiu
  • Jury Prize – Best Short Film: La Pince à ongles by Jean-Claude Carrière
  • Best First Work: Easy Rider by Dennis Hopper
  • FIPRESCI Prize: Andrei Rublev by Andrei Tarkovsky