Cannes Film Fest 1960: Year 13–Fellini’s Dolce Vita Wins Top Award

The 13th Cannes Film Fest was held May 4 to 20, 1960.

The Palme d’Or went to the La Dolce Vita by Federico Fellini.

The festival opened with the 1959 Best Picture Oscar winner, Ben-Hur, directed by William Wyler.

Jury Members

 Georges Simenon (Belgium) (president)
  • Marc Allégret (France)
  • Louis Chauvet (France) (journalist)
  • Diego Fabbri (Italy)
  • Hidemi Ima (Japan)
  • Grigori Kozintsev (Soviet Union)
  • Maurice Leroux (France)
  • Max Lippmann (West Germany) (critic)
  • Henry Miller (USA)
  • Simone Renant (France)
  • Ulises Petit de Murat (Argentina)
  • Georges Altman (France) (journalist) (short films)
  • Nicolas Hayer (France) (short films)
  • Henri Storck (Belgium) (short films)
  • Jean Vivie (France) (CST official) (short films)
  • Dušan Vukotić (Yugoslavia) (short films)

Feature film competition

  • L’Amérique insolite by François Reichenbach
  • L’avventura by Michelangelo Antonioni
  • Ballada o soldate by Grigori Chukhrai
  • Ching nu yu hun by Li Han Hsiang
  • Cidade Ameaçada by Roberto Farias
  • Dama s sobachkoy by Iosif Kheifits
  • Deveti krug by France Štiglic
  • La Dolce Vita by Federico Fellini
  • Los golfos by Carlos Saura
  • Home from the Hill by Vincente Minnelli
  • Jakten by Erik Løchen
  • Jungfrukällan by Ingmar Bergman
  • Kagi by Kon Ichikawa
  • Kam čert nemůže by Zdeněk Podskalský
  • Macari by Roberto Gavaldón
  • Moderato Cantabile by Peter Brook
  • Neotpravlennoye Pismo by Mikhail Kalatozov
  • Parvi urok by Rangel Vulchanov
  • Paw by Astrid Henning-Jensen
  • Pote tin Kyriaki by Jules Dassin
  • La Procesión by Francis Lauric
  • The Savage Innocents by Nicholas Ray and Baccio Bandini
  • Si le vent te fait peur by Emile Degelin
  • Sons and Lovers by Jack Cardiff
  • Sujata by Bimal Roy
  • Telegrame by Gheorghe Naghi and Aurel Miheles
  • Le Trou by Jacques Becker
  • The Young One by Luis Buñuel
  • Zezowate szczescie by Andrzej Munk

Films out of competition

  • Ben-Hur by William Wyler
  • Orient-Occident by Enrico Fulchignoni


Palme d’Or: La Dolce Vita by Federico Fellini

  • Jury Prize:
    • L’avventura by Michelangelo Antonioni
    • Kagi by Kon Ichikawa
  • Best Actress:
    • Jeanne Moreau for Moderato Cantabile
    • Melina Mercouri for Pote tin Kyriaki (Never on Sunday)
  • Special Mention:
    • Jungfrukällan by Ingmar Bergman
    • The Young One by Luis Buñuel
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: Le Sourire by Serge Bourguignon
  • Special Mention – Short Film: Paris la belle by Pierre Prévert
  • OCIC Award: Paw by Astrid Henning-Jensen