Cannes Film Fest 1958: Year 11–Paul Newman Wins Best Actor for Long Hot Summer (Years before Winning Competitive Oscar)


The eleventh Cannes Film Fest was again held in early summer, from May 2 to 18, 1958.

The top award, the Palme d’Or, went to the Letyat Zhuravli by Mikhail Kalatozov.

Jury Members

The composition of the jury was more diverse then in previous years.

Director Charles Vidor (Lili) was the only US rep on the jury.

Marcel Achard (France) (president)

  • Tomiko Asabuki (Japan)
  • Bernard Buffet (France)
  • Jean De Baroncelli (France) (critic)
  • Helmut Käutner (West Germany)
  • Dudley Leslie (UK)
  • Madeleine Robinson (France)
  • Ladislao Vajda (Spain)
  • Charles Vidor (USA)
  • Sergei Yutkevich (Soviet Union)
  • Cesare Zavattini (Italy)
  • Norman McLaren (Canada) (short films)
  • Jean Mitry (France) (short films)
  • Krishna Riboud (India) (short films)
  • Edmond Séchan (France) (short films)
  • Jerzy Toeplitz (Poland) (short films)

Feature Film Competition

  • The Brothers Karamazov by Richard Brooks (USA)
  • La Caleta olvidada by Bruno Gebel
  • Ciulinii Bărăganului by Louis Daquin
  • Desire Under the Elms by Delbert Mann (USA)
  • En Djungelsaga by Arne Sucksdorff
  • L’eau vive by François Villiers
  • Giovani mariti by Mauro Bolognini
  • Goha by Jacques Baratier
  • Letyat zhuravli by Mikhail Kalatozov
  • The Long, Hot Summer by Martin Ritt (USA)
  • Mon Oncle by Jacques Tati
  • Ni liv by Arne Skouen
  • Nära livet by Ingmar Bergman
  • Orders to Kill by Anthony Asquith
  • Parash Pathar by Satyajit Ray
  • Pardesi by Khwaja Ahmad Abbas and Vasili Pronin
  • Rosaura a las 10 by Mario Soffici
  • Sissi- Schicksalsjahre einer Kaiserin by Ernst Marischka
  • To teleftaio psema by Michael Cacoyannis
  • L’uomo di paglia by Pietro Germi
  • Vasvirág by János Herskó
  • La Venganza by Juan Antonio Bardem
  • Visages de bronze by Bernard Taisant
  • Das Wirtshaus im Spessart by Kurt Hoffmann
  • Yukiguni by Shirō Toyoda
  • Zizkovská romance by Zbyněk Brynych


  • Palme d’Or:
  • Letyat Zhuravli by Mikhail Kalatozov
  • Jury Prize: Tie
    • Goha by Jacques Baratier
    • Visages de bronze by Bernard Taisant
    • Jury Special Prize: Mon Oncle by Jacques Tati
  • Best Actor: Paul Newman for The Long, Hot Summer
  • Best Actress: Ensemble–Bibi Andersson, Eva Dahlbeck, Barbro Hiort af Ornäs and Ingrid Thulin for Nära livet
  • Best Director: Ingmar Bergman for Nära livet
  • Best Screenplay: Massimo Franciosa, Pasquale Festa Campanile and Pier Paolo Pasolini for Giovani mariti
  • Special Mention: Tatiana Samoylova for Letyat zhuravli
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: La Joconde: Histoire d’une obsession by Henri Gruel and Jean Suyeux