Cannes Film Fest 1954: Year 7–Gate of Hell by Teinosuke Kinugasa is Top Winner; Few Hollywood Titles; French Male-Dominated Jury

The seventh Cannes Film Fest was again held in early spring, from March 25 to April 9, 1954.

The Grand Prize went to the Japanese film, The Gate of Hell by Teinosuke Kinugasa.

(It later won Honorary Oscar for the Best Foreign Language Feature)

The festival opened with Le Grand Jeu by Robert Siodmak.

Jury Members
All the jury members were French except for Spanish director Luis Buñuel, then in exile in Mexico.
Lack of diversity: There was not a single female o the jury, French or otherwise.
The French juror included directors (Cocteau), critics (Andre Bazin), and other representatives of the French Film Industry.
Jean Cocteau (France) (president)
Jean Aurenche (France)
André Bazin (France)
Luis Buñuel
Henri Calef (France)
Guy Desson (France) (MP official)
Philippe Erlanger (France)
Michel Fourre-Cormeray (France)
Jacques-Pierre Frogerais (France) (CNC official)
Jacques Ibert (France)
Georges Lamousse (France) (senate official)
André Lang (France)
Noël-Noël (France)
Georges Raguis (France) (union official)

Feature film competition

  • Avant le deluge by André Cayatte
  • Aventuras del barbero de Sevilla by Ladislao Vajda
  • Beneath the 12-Mile Reef by Robert D. Webb
  • O Canto do Mar by Alberto Cavalcanti
  • Carosello napoletano by Ettore Giannini
  • Cirkus Fandango by Arne Skouen
  • Cronache di poveri amanti by Carlo Lizzani
  • Cómicos by Juan Antonio Bardem
  • Do Bigha Zamin by Bimal Roy
  • Feitiço do Amazonas by Zygmunt Sulistrowski
  • From Here to Eternity y Fred Zinnemann (US)
  • Gate of Hell y Teinosuke Kinugasa
  • Le Grand Jeu by Robert Siodmak (US)
  • Kärlekens bröd by Arne Mattsson
  • The Kidnappers by Philip Leacock (UK)
  • Kiskrajcár by Márton Keleti
  • Knave of Hearts by René Clément
  • Knights of the Round Table by Richard Thorpe (US)
  • Koibumi by Kinuyo Tanaka
  • Komedianti b Vladimír Vlcek
  • Kyriakatiko xypnima b Michael Cacoyannis
  • Die Letzte Brücke b Helmut Käutner
  • Little Boy Lost by George Seaton (US)
  • The Living Desert by Walt Disney and James Algar
  • Maddalena by Augusto Genina
  • Man of Africa by Cyril Frankel
  • Mastera russkogo baleta by Herbert Rappaport
  • Mayurpankh by Kishore Sahu
  • Memorias de un Mexicano by Carmen Toscano
  • El Mártir del Calvario y Miguel Morayta
  • Nigorie y Tadashi Imai
  • El Niño y la niebla y Roberto Gavaldón
  • Pamposh y Ezra Mir
  • Piatka z ulicy Barskiej y Aleksander Ford
  • Sangre y luces y Georges Rouquier and Ricardo Muñoz Suay
  • Si mis campos hablaran y José Bohr
  • Sira` Fi al-Wadi by Youssef Chahine
  • Solange Du da bist by Harald Braun
  • Det Stora Ädventyret by Arne Sucksdorff
  • Sudba Mariny by Isaak Shmaruk and Viktor Ivchenko
  • Todo es posible en Granada by Carlos Blanco and José Luis Sáenz de Heredia
  • Velikiy voin Albanii Skanderbeg by Sergei Yutkevich
  • El Wahsh by Salah Abu Seif


 Grand Prize:

  • Gate of Hell by Teinosuke Kinugasa

Jury Special Prize

  • Knave of Hearts by René Clément

International Prize

  • Avant le deluge by Anré Cayatte
  • Carosello napoletano by Ettore Giannini
  • Cronache di poveri amanti by Carlo Lizzani
  • Do Bigha Zamin by Bimal Roy
  • Piatka z ulicy Barskiej by Aleksander Ford
  • Die Letzte Brücke by Helmut Käutner
  • The Living Desert by James Algar
  • Det Stora Ädventyre by Arne Sucksdorff
  • The Great Warrior Skanderbeg by Sergei Yutkevich

Special Mention

  • André Cayatte and Charles Spaak for Avant le déluge
  • Maria Schell for her acting performance in Die Letzte Brücke
  • The camera crew of The Living Desert
  • Aleksander Ford for his direction of Five Boys from Barska Street
  • Arne Sucksdorff for his direction of Det Stora Ädventyret
  • Sergei Yutkevich for his direction of Velikiy voin Albanii Skanderbeg

Special Awards

  • From Here to Eternity by Fred Zinnemann (this film swept most of the 1953 Oscars, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay)

Best Puppet Short Film

O Sklenicku Vic by Břetislav Pojar

Best Fantastic-Poetic Film

The Pleasure Garden by James Broughton

OCIC Award

Die Letzte Brücke by Helmut Käutner