French Cinema: Lumières Awards

The Lumières Award (French: Lumières de la presse internationale) is a French film award presented by the Académie des Lumières to honor the best in the French-speaking cinema of the previous year.

The awards ceremony is organized by the Académie des Lumières which consists of over 200 representatives of the international press based in Paris.

It is regarded as one of the most prestigious French film industry awards.

The Lumières Award was initiated in 1995 by French producer Daniel Toscan du Plantier and American journalist and ex-Newsweek’s Paris correspondent Edward Behr. Their idea was to replicate the Golden Globes given by the foreign press in Hollywood.

The Lumières Award is usually presented a month before César Award, the French national film award.

The president of the Academy is Lisa Nesselson, the vice-presidents are Pamela Bienzobas and José Maria Riba, the treasurer is Min Liu, the general secretary is Jacques Kermabon and the general delegate is Anne Guimet.