Oscar 2014: Patricia Arquette is Lead, Not Supporting Actress

Patricia Arquette won best actress from the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn. on Sunday for her performance in “Boyhood.” The runner-up was Julianne Moore for “Still Alice.”

The group handed its best supporting acting prizes to Agata Kulesza (“Ida”) and J.K. Simmons “Whiplash”).

The animation prize went to Isao Takahata’s “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya,” while the award for documentary/nonfiction film was given to Laura Poitras’ “Citizenfour.”

In a tie, Jonny Greenwood (“Inherent Vice”) and Mica Levi (“Under the Skin”) shared the prize for music/score, while Adam Stockhausen (“The Grand Budapest Hotel”) took the laurels for production design.

As previously announced, Gena Rowlands will be receiving the group’s career achievement award. A special citation will go to longtime LAFCA member Leonard Maltin.

The winners so far:

Actress: Patricia Arquette, “Boyhood”
Julianne Moore, “Still Alice”

Supporting actor: J.K. Simmons, “Whiplash”
Runner-up: Edward Norton, “Birdman”

Supporting actress: Agata Kulesza, “Ida”
 Rene Russo, “Nightcrawler”

Screenplay: “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Runner-up: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris and Armando Bo, “Birdman”

Documentary/nonfiction film: “Citizenfour”
 “Life Itself”

Animation: “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya”
Runner-up: “The Lego Movie”

Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, “Birdman”
Runner-up: Dick Pope, “Mr. Turner”

Production design: Adam Stockhausen, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Runner-up: Ondrej Nekvasil, “Snowpiercer”

Music/score: Jonny Greenwood, “Inherent Vice,” and Mica Levi, “Under the Skin” (tie)

Film editing: Sandra Adair, “Boyhood”
Runner-up: Barney Pilling, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video: Walter Reuben, “The David Whiting Story”