Los Angeles Film Critics Awards 2017: Call Me By Your Name is Best Picture; Sally Hawkins Best Actress

Call Me By Your Name, the gay tale of first love, is named best picture by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association.

We met Sunday morning to vote on our picks for the year’s best.

Sally Hawkins won best actress for The Shape of Water, while Timothée Chalamet was named best actor for Call Me by Your Name.

The Florida Project’s Willem Dafoe and Lady Bird’s Laurie Metcalf were named best supporting actor and actress, respectively.

In a tie, best director went to Guillermo del Toro for The Shape of Water and Luca Guadagnino for Call Me by Your Name

Also among the winners are Jordan Peele, who won best screenplay for Get Out.

As previously announced, LAFCA chose Max von Sydow as the recipient of this year’s Career Achievement Award.

The awards will be handed out at the group’s annual dinner, set for Saturday, Jan. 13, at the InterContinental Hotel in Century City.

A list of winners follows.

'Lady Bird'

Picture: Call Me by Your Name
Runner-up: The Florida Project

Director: Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water and Luca Guadagnino, Call Me by Your Name (tie)

Actress: Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
Runner-up: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Actor: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
Runner-up: James Franco, The Disaster Artist

Supporting actress: Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
Runner-up: Mary J. Blige, Mudbound

Supporting actor: Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
Runner-up: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Animated film: The Breadwinner
Runner-up: Coco

Foreign-language film: BPM (Beats Per Minute) and Loveless (tie)

Documentary/nonfiction: Faces Places
Runner-up: Jane
Screenplay: Jordan Peele, Get Out
Runner-up: Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Editing: Lee Smith, Dunkirk
Runner-up: Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya

Production design: Dennis Gassner, Blade Runner 2049
Runner-up: Paul D. Austerberry, The Shape of Water

Music/score: Jonny Greenwood, Phantom Thread
Runner-up: Alexandre Desplat, The Shape of Water

Cinematography: Dan Laustsen, The Shape of Water
Runner-up: Roger Deakins, Blade Runner 2049

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Prize: Lee Anne Schmitt’s Purge This Land

Career Achievement Award: Max von Sydow

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

Speak Your Mind