Gotham Awards 2018: Call My By Your Name Wins Best Picture

The 2017 Gotham Independent Film Awards are being handed out right now at the Cipriani Wall Street Hotel in New York.


Best Feature Nominees

Jordan Peele’s racially-themed horror film, Get Out, leads with four nominations, followed by Greta Gerwig’s acclaimed directorial debut Lady Bird and Kogonada’s Columbus, which have three nominations each.

Other multiple nominees include Call Me by Your Name, The Florida Project, Good Time and I, Tonya, all of which are up for best feature.


Dee Rees’ Mudbound scored two nods, including a special jury award for ensemble performance, which will be given to actors Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan and Jonathan Banks.

Audience Award

The audience award, voted on by the IFP rank-and-file members, out of the longer list of the films nominated for best feature, best docu, and breakthrough director.

TV Awards

Two years ago, the Gotham Awards started recognizing achievements of the  small-screen fare.  This year’s TV nominees include Atlanta, Better Things, Dear White People, Fleabag and Search Party for its breakthrough series – long-form award.

Best Feature

Call Me by Your Name (winner)

Luca Guadagnino, director; Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Rodrigo Teixeira, Marco Morabito, James Ivory, Howard Rosenman, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

The Florida Project

  • Sean Baker, director; Sean Baker, Chris Bergoch, Kevin Chinoy, Andrew Duncan, Alex Saks, Francesca Silvestri, Shih-Ching Tsou, producers (A24)

    Get Out
    Jordan Peele, director; Sean McKittrick, Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jordan Peele, producers (Universal Pictures)

    Good Time
    Josh and Benny Safdie, directors; Paris Kasidokostas-Latsis, Terry Dougas, Sebastian Bear-McClard, Oscar Boyson, producers (A24)

    I, Tonya
    Craig Gillespie, director; Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley, producers (30WEST and NEON)


    Best Documentary

    Ex Libris – The New York Public Library

    Frederick Wiseman, director and producer (Zipporah Films)

    Rat Film
    Theo Anthony, director; Riel Roch-Decter, Sebastian Pardo, producers (MEMORY and Cinema Guild)

    Strong Island
    Yance Ford, director; Yance Ford, Joslyn Barnes, producers (Netflix)

    Whose Streets?
    Sabaah Folayan, Damon Davis, directors; Sabaah Folayan, Damon Davis, Jennifer MacArthur, Flannery Miller, producers (Magnolia Pictures)

    The Work
    Jairus McLeary, director;  Alice Henty, Eon McLeary, Jairus McLeary, Miles McLeary, producers (The Orchard and First Look Media)

    Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
    Maggie Betts for Novitiate (Sony Pictures Classics)

    Greta Gerwig for Lady Bird (A24)

    Kogonada for Columbus (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)

    Jordan Peele for Get Out (Universal Pictures)

    Joshua Z Weinstein for Menashe (A24)


    • Best Screenplay

      Courtesy of Universal Studios

      Get Out, Jordan Peele (Universal Pictures) (WINNER)

      The Big Sick, Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (Amazon Studios)

      Brad’s Status, Mike White (Amazon Studios)

      Call Me by Your Name, James Ivory (Sony Pictures Classics)

      Columbus, Kogonada (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)

      Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig (A24)

    • Best Actor*

      Willem Dafoe in The Florida Project (A24)

      James Franco in The Disaster Artist (A24)

      Daniel Kaluuya in Get Out (Universal Pictures)

      Robert Pattinson in Good Time (A24)

      Adam Sandler in The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected) (Netflix)

      Harry Dean Stanton in Lucky (Magnolia Pictures)

    • Best Actress*

      Melanie Lynskey in I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore (Netflix)

      Haley Lu Richardson in Columbus (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)

      Margot Robbie in I, Tonya (30WEST and NEON)

      Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird (A24)

      Lois Smith in Marjorie Prime (FilmRise)

      *The 2017 best actor/best actress nominating committee also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award for ensemble performance to Mudbound. The award will go to actors Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks.

    • Breakthrough Actor

      Mary J. Blige in Mudbound (Netflix)

      Timothée Chalamet in Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics) (Winner)

      Harris Dickinson in Beach Rats (NEON)

      Kelvin Harrison Jr. in It Comes at Night (A24)

      Brooklynn Prince in The Florida Project (A24)

    • Breakthrough Series – Long Form

      Donald Glover, creator; Donald Glover, Dianne McGunigle, Paul Simms, executive producers (FX Networks) (Winner)

      Better Things
      Pamela Adlon, Louis C.K., creators; Dave Becky, M. Blair Breard, Louis C.K., Pamela Adlon, executive producers (FX Networks)

      Dear White People
      Justin Simien, creator; Yvette Bowser, Justin Simien, Stephanie Allain, Julia Lebedev, executive producers (Netflix)

      Phoebe Waller-Bridge, creator; Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Harry Williams, Jack Williams, executive producers (Amazon)

      Search Party
      Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, creators; Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, Tony Hernandez, Lilly Burns,  executive producers (TBS)

    • Breakthrough Series – Short Form

      The Strange Eyes of Dr. Myes
      Nancy Andrews, creator (YouTube) (WINNER)

      Kate Berlant, Andrew DeYoung and John Early, creators (Vimeo)

      Joel Ashton McCarthy, creator (YouTube)

      Zoe Cassavetes, creator (Blackpills and VICE)

      Let Me Die a Nun
      Sarah Salovaara, creator (Vimeo)

      The Strange Eyes of Dr. Myes
      Nancy Andrews, creator (YouTube)

    Audience Award

    Call Me by Your Name
    Ex Libris – The New York Public Library
    The Florida Project
    Get Out (Winner)
    Good Time
    I, Tonya
    Lady Bird
    Rat Film
    Strong Island
    Whose Streets?
    The Work

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

Speak Your Mind