MacLaine, Shirley: Honored by 2017 Texas Film Hall of Fame

Oscar-winner actress Shirley MacLaine and Oscar-nominated producer Sarah Green have been added to the Texas Film Hall of Fame’s 2017 list of honorees.

MacLaine will receive the lifetime achievement award and the “Star of Texas” award for her Oscar-winning role in Terms of Endearment.

Oscar-nominated producer Sarah Green — whose films include The Tree of Life, Knight of Cups, Frida, Girlfight, Midnight Special, Mud and Take Shelter — will be inducted into the Texas Film Hall of Fame. Green works closely with Austin-based writer-directors Jeff Nichols and Terrence Malick.

Austin Film Society artistic director Richard Linklater said of MacLaine, “Shirley MacLaine is one of the world’s most important living actors. It’s incredible to think that she’s given groundbreaking performances in seven different decades. Her embodiment of Larry McMurtry’s Aurora Greenway in both Terms of Endearment and The Evening Star introduced the world to a fearless and determined Texas woman, a character with a spirit of independence and self-reliance that resonated richly with Texans. She has left her mark on our regional cinema, and we’re honored to celebrate this legacy at the Texas Film Awards.”

AFS CEO Rebecca Campbell said Green’s “work with Texas-based directors has fundamentally altered the Texas film landscape. The films she’s made here with Jeff Nichols and Terrence Malick are artistically ambitious and critically celebrated on the world’s stage.” Added Campbell, “Sarah has left her mark with the creation of these films, and in the eyes of AFS, her impact will build for generations thanks to her mentoring of dozens of emerging filmmakers who are becoming forces in the industry in their own right.”

The two women join three previously announced honorees Jeff Nichols, Tye Sheridan and Hector Galan, who will all be recognized at the Austin Film Society’s Texas Film Awards on March 9.

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

Speak Your Mind