American Society of Cinematographers 2017: Nominations

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced nominees for its 31st annual Awards, singling out Oscar season frontrunners “La La Land” and “Moonlight.”

Also nominated were “Lion,” “Arrival,” and, in its first guild nomination so far, “Silence.”

The nominees are:

Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for “Lion”
James Laxton for “Moonlight”
Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC for “Silence”
Linus Sandgren, FSF for “La La Land”
Bradford Young, ASC for “Arrival”

This is Prieto’s third ASC nomination. He was previously recognized for “Frida” in 2002 and “Brokeback Mountain” in 2005. All other nominees this year are first-time contenders.

“Arrival,” “La La Land,” and “Lion” were also singled out by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts this week, along with “Hell or High Water” and “Nocturnal Animals.”

Other films in the hunt for Oscar recognition include “Hail, Caesar!,” “Jackie,” and “Live By Night.”

The ASC also announced nominees for the Spotlight Award, feature-length projects screened at festivals, internationally, or in limited theatrical release.

The nominees are:

Lol Crawley, BSC for “Childhood of a Leader”
Gorka Gomez Andreu, AEC for “House of Others”
Ernesto Pardo for “Tempestad”
Juliette van Dormael for “Mon Ange (My Angel)”

Emmanuel Lubezki won both the ASC award and the Oscar last year for “The Revenant.”

The 31st annual ASC Awards will be held on Saturday, Feb. 4.

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

Speak Your Mind