Cinema 101: Adventure Films–Classic Hollywood Genre from Silent Era to Present

Classic Action-Adventure Films (in chronological order)

Mask of Zero, The, 1920

Don Juan, 1926

The General, 1926

Wings, 1927

Treasure Island, 1927

Scarlet Pimpernel, 1934

Count of Monte Cristo, 1934

Tarzan and His Mate, 1935

Lives of a Bengal Lancer, The, 1935

Call of the Wild, The, 1935

Crusades, The, 1935

Last of the Mohicans, The, 1936

Mutiny on the Bounty, The, 1935 (Best Picture Oscar)

Prisoner of Zenda, The, 1937

Adventures of Robin Hood, The, 1938

Adventures of Tom Sawyer, The, 1938

Gunga Din, 1939

Four Feathers, The, 1939

Beau Geste, 1939

Northwest Passage, 1940

Sea Hawk, The, 1940

49th Parallel, 1941

Jungle Book, The, 1942

Henry V, 1944

Captain from Castille, The, 1947

Scott of the Antarctic, 1948

Treasure of the Sierra Madre, The, 1948

Flame and the Arrow, The, 1950

King Solomon’s Mines, 1950

Captain Horatio Hornblower, 1951

African Queen, The, 1951

Ivanhoe, 1952

Scaramouche, 1954

Adventures of Robinson Cruzoe, 1954

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, 1954

Court Jester, The, 1956

Around the World in 80 Days, 1956

War and Peace, 1956

Bridge on the River Kwai, The, 1957

Magnificent Seven, The, 1960

Swiss Family Robinson, 1960

Ride the High Country, 1961

El Cid, 1961

Lawrence of Arabia, 1962

Great Escape, The 1963

Zulu, 1964

Naked Prey, 1966

Professionals, The, 1966

Man Who Would Be King, The, 1975






Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

Speak Your Mind